New Delhi: In the recent update of the COVID-19 response plan, the Kejriwal government has decided for a home to home surveillance in all the containment zones of Delhi. All the houses have to be screened by June 30. The new plan has been released after a meeting that took place between Amit Shah, the Home Minister and Arvind Kejriwal, the Chief Minister of Delhi. 

Delhi has surpassed Tamil Nadu and now stands in the list of the second place after Maharashtra with the highest number of COVID-19 cases. Delhi has recorded a single spike in the novel coronavirus cases with 3947 cases of new infection so far, as per the report submitted on Tuesday. Delhi has 261 containment zones. With the help of surveillance and contact tracing in the neighboring areas of Delhi would help to break the chain of transmission of the new COVID-19 cases.

The Delhi Government has reported that around 2500 new cases of the novel coronavirus have been reported every day along with 75 deaths have been spotted in the various parts of Delhi. A strict monitoring would be implemented at all the district levels. The task force of COVID-19 would be supervised by the district magistrates that would include the district commissioner of police, civic body officials, epidemiologists from Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) and various IT Professionals who would monitor the Aarogya Setu application for contact tracing. 

However, in this scenario, the Aarogya Setu application ought to be downloaded by all the members residing in the worst-affected neighborhoods. The movement of the residents has to be checked by the CCTV footage. The government is all geared up to fight against the COVID-19 cases. 

The antigen testing would be conducted as per the guidelines of the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR). The state task force would be monitored by the Chief Minister. All the symptomatic and the asymptomatic cases in the containment zones would be tested in between the 5th day and the 10th day. As per the survey, around 20,000 samples would be collected from various containment zones and the results are expected to be declared on July 10.